Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons

Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons

How do you feel about your job? Do you spring out of bed, looking forward to work? Or, is your job a soul-destroying monotony of pure drudgery, or somewhere in between?\

I love my job.  Most of the time.  I’m a journalist for a small town newspaper.

Every day I have the opportunity to meet new people, learn new things, and help write history as it happens.  But sometimes I find myself panicking when the deadline draws near, and I realize I don’t have a thing to turn in.  At other times, I’m panicking because I’m in the middle of writing something really good, and want to do more with it, and I’m running out of time.  It’s not easy to stay focused sometimes.

Lately, I’ve been traveling day to day on “stepping stones.”  It’s like, the stories are out there, and they are good, but there is a lot of water in between that has to be jumped over, and sometimes I don’t make it.  And other times, the stepping stones look like they’re solid, but they turn out to be wobbly, or not as big as I thought, and my feet get wet.  When it’s like that, I find myself hoping this is just a creek, and not a river.  Creeks are fun and refreshing, after all. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

