When will Christmas get here?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Getting Seasonal.”

Christmas is one of those holidays that has a day on the calendar, and in the retail world it is months long, but it doesn’t really arrive until your heart is ready for it.  I’m feeling weary of it this year, despite the fact my kids will be home.  Perhaps this is the same for most families with teens.  I’d love to share quiet moments together, bake together, go to church, talk, listen to Christmas carols and relax.  That seems to be far from what the kids want though.  They have friends and dances and boyfriends and iThis and iThat to watch, phones that interrupt, and they can’t seem to sit still.  Does it have to seem like a punishment to spend time together at the holidays?  Do they even know how?

This sounds like a gripe session.  I suppose it is in a sense.  It’s been a long time since we’ve had a normal Christmas-divorce does that to families.  Visitations make the holiday seem more like a burden than a joy in many ways, but we do our best to make it enjoyable.  Living far from our extended family also leaves me feeling melancholy about the holidays.

Someday, I’m going to settle down and really observe Advent, complete a Bible study, make all my gifts by hand for only a select few, and I’m going to watch all those Christmas movies, listen to carols while I bake, and if my kids or friends or husband decide to join in, that will be fine.  But no football, no Kardashians, and no cell phones will be allowed.

Leave a Reply

